The Ten Commandments – How many rules do we break

How many of you abide by the law, whether it be rules of the road, property of the company you work for you name it, how many of you stick to the rules 100%, I am sure not many even though we try somewhere along the line we do something we should not, I am guilty of that too… I will give you an example, the road I work in is a one way, and every day when I leave I go in the wrong direction down the one way, why?? Well it will save me almost 20 minutes in travel time to get home, so then that should make it ok right?? WRONG that does not make it ok.  So as of this moment onwards this is the one rule that I will no longer break.

 

Let’s take a look at God’s Law’s: 

 

The Ten Commandments (Exodus 20:2-17 NKJV)

1              “I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. You shall have no other gods before Me.

 

This one is pretty clear, there is no need to explain it, we shall not have any other God’s other than God in heaven, the God created us.

 

2              “You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them. For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing mercy to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My Commandments.

 

Ok so many people bow down to statues, and it is not my place to Judge, this is just my personal opinion, I don’t see the relevance in it, praying to statues and they are not living beings, a statue is a lifeless piece of man material so will that benefit you, God is real He is alive and lives in us, we don’t need anyone but him.

 

3              “You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes His name in vain.

 

Don’t say the name of God in vain its simple really, I used to be guilty of this in fact every now and then I still do it, I am working on it though, but I suppose I was just so used to doing it that now I need to get into the habit of not doing it. I am getting there though.

4              “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labour and do all your work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the Lord your God. In it you shall do no work: you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your male servant, nor your female servant, nor your cattle, nor your stranger who is within your gates. For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and hallowed it.

 

Hey we all need some time off and the BIG BOSS approved it so who are we to argue or complain, I sure aint, in fact I will take 2 days off is he likes.  Even 3… Just kidding.. just a little humour to brighten my day and possible yours too.

5              “Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long upon the land which the Lord your God is giving you.

 

Respect your parents, when I was younger I used to disrespect my mother often, I was a teenager and most of us did that at some point, and I thank God that he opened my eyes to that one very terrible thing I was doing, I love my mother dearly and sometimes do not appreciate her enough.

6              “You shall not murder.

 

Ok seriously, who in their right mind can just so easily take another person’s life yes I know there are many but I could never really understand it, what goes through the minds of those people for killing others, and how do they sleep at night.

7              “You shall not commit adultery.

 

Here to, I have seen what unfaithfulness can do to a family, what it can do to the children involved, its heartbreaking to see someone go through that, and come out the other side a stronger person, I see it in my brother, married for 10 years the devoted husband and father loved his wife, the mother of his children more than he loved himself, and yet she didn’t think twice to cheat on him with other men, about 6 out of the 10 years were a lie. Do yourself a favour go and read this article if you are planning on getting married or even if you are already married; it’s a brilliant piece “For better or for worse….” Really?.

 

8              “You shall not steal.

 

Now this is pretty clear, but how many of us steal without even realising it, taking a pen from work, or a marker. Seeing some change lying on the kitchen counter and taking it because its been lying there for days … there are so many small things and while they are small it is still classified as stealing

 

9              “You shall not bear false witness against your neighbour.

 

The way I understand this verse is that you must not gossip and tell lies about other people, please if I am wrong correct me.

 

10           “You shall not covet your neighbour’s house; you shall not covet your neighbour’s wife, nor his male servant, nor his female servant, nor his ox, nor his donkey, nor anything that is your neighbour’s.”

 

Simple, anything that belongs to your neighbour (anyone else other than yourself) belongs to the not you so don’t touch it….it is not yours, keep those hands and fingers to yourself.

 

So here are my thoughts on the 10 Commandments… it is the way I understand them.

 

Hope you all have a blessed weekend, for those lucky ones like, myself who have been blessed with a public holiday tomorrow.

 

I must just say before I go, today I felt God’s love so abundantly it’s amazing. How he can make you feel so loved and so secure and safe through all of life’s problems.

 

Thank you Jesus.

Posted on December 15, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for a wonderful post Bernadette!

    When I read your little story about the one way street where you work it reminded me of what Peter said in 1 Peter 3:13, “Submit yourselves to every ordinance of man for the Lord’s sake. My first application of that one was in obeying speed limits. I now think of speeding as speeding ahead of God’s will.

  2. you know when you sit down to think about all the ‘little sins’ it actually adds up and regardless of what they are they are still sins, nobody is perfect and we are bound to stumble, but there should at leadt be an effort, not going down the one way will be difficult because it saves me so much time but if i want to be more Christlike then I need to start somewhere, I know Jesus would not go down the one way if he had a car back then.

Leave a Reply

