Happy Clappy!!!

I had a conversation with my brother last week, because of my choice of church. We were born into a catholic family and here I am going to (as my brother put it) a “happy Clappy church”. When he asked me why I chose this church and not the Catholic Church, my response to him was that although we were born into a catholic family we never really lived our lives as such hence I am not really catholic.

 

So here are my views, there are a lot of beliefs in this world when it comes to religion, some people pray to statues, some people pray to Mother Mary, I don’t know much about all these religions and beliefs, what I do know is what I believe.

 

The bible says in John 14:6: Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

 

What does this Verse tell you? Well it tells me that there is no other way to get to God but through his son Jesus Christ. It doesn’t say pray to a statue and you will get to my Father, it doesn’t say pray to Mary and get to my Father, it says only through me will you get to my Father.

 

My choice to be a “happy Clappy”, well I have tried many churches and none of them make me as excited as the “happy Clappy”… it makes you feel alive. It makes you want to wake up early so that you can get to church on time.

 

I have found so many scriptures to back my choice up…

 

They sang, praising and giving thanks to the LORD, saying, “For He is good, for His loving-kindness is upon Israel forever.” And all the people shouted with a great shout when they praised the LORD because the foundation of the house of the LORD was laid…. Ezra 3:11.

 

You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; You have loosed my sackcloth and girded me with gladness, that my soul may sing praise to You and not be silent O LORD my God, I will give thanks to You forever … Psalm 30:11-12.

 

Sing for joy in the LORD, O you righteous ones; Praise is becoming to the upright. Give thanks to the LORD with the lyre; sing praises to Him with a harp of ten strings … Psalm 33:1-3.

 

Shout joyfully to God, all the earth; sing the glory of His name; make His praise glorious … Psalm 66:1-2.

 

I will also praise You with a harp, even Your truth, O my God; to You I will sing praises with the lyre, O Holy One of Israel. My lips will shout for joy when I sing praises to You; and my soul, which You have redeemed … Psalm 71:22-23.

 

Shout joyfully to the LORD, all the earth. Serve the LORD with gladness; Come before Him with joyful singing. Know that the LORD Himself is God; it is He who has made us, and not we ourselves; we are His people and the sheep of His pasture. Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise give thanks to Him, bless His name. For the LORD is good; His loving-kindness is everlasting and His faithfulness to all generations … Psalm 100:1-5.

 

Let them praise His name with dancing; let them sing praises to Him with timbrel and lyre … Psalm 149:3.

 

Praise the LORD! Praise God in His sanctuary; praise Him in His mighty expanse. Praise Him for His mighty deeds; praise Him according to His excellent greatness. Praise Him with trumpet sound; praise Him with harp and lyre. Praise Him with timbrel and dancing; praise Him with stringed instruments and pipe. Praise Him with loud cymbals; praise Him with resounding cymbals. Let everything that has breath praise the LORD. Praise the LORD … Psalm 150:1-6.

 

I have not found one scripture that says you must quietly praise God, so why should I conform to that?

Posted on December 2, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love your new look! Bright and cheery, boy did I need a smile this morning. Thank you for that. I really enjoy reading your posts and your style of writing.:-) I too go to a “happy clappy” church now. LOL I actually grew up fundamental baptist,very rigid and conservative. Nothing wrong with that. But I’m at a point in my life where I enjoy the praise and worship, lifting my hands in the air and praising the Lord. I’m still a little reserved compared to some of the other congregation but that’s me. The way I praise and worship my beautiful Heavenly Father comes from my heart and my Lord knows that so that’s all that matters to me. Somedays I have a little more pep in my step during the songs and other Sundays I just like to be still and sing. I guess the most important thing about praise & worship is to be genuine about it. I don’t like phoniness or people praising Jesus for show or because everybody else is doing it in the service. Praise Him because you mean it! Praise Him because you love Him! Praise Him for all He is and who He is! Have a great day my sister and thank you for giving me a little charge this morning! Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

