Let Go!

All of us have suffered pain, loss, betrayal; we have all had someone lie to us, say untrue things about us to others etc.  Which can cause us to harbour bad feelings towards these people, the thing is in order for us to truly live the life that God wants us to live we need to let go. It’s not easy, in fact I think I am writing this blog today more for me than anyone else. I still struggle to let go, of past betrayals, past hurts, past lies.  We have all made mistakes in the past, some that aren’t so bad and some that we would do anything to reverse.

 

So I will ask one question… WHAT is the common ground with what I have just written above, the word PAST. That is exactly it… it is in the PAST. All these things have already happened, no matter how much we think about it and how it still angers us it is in the PAST. We cannot go back in time, and change anything; we can’t go back and reverse the mistakes we made.

 

John 13:34-35 says: A new command I give to you, that you love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples.

 

So as hard as this is, we need to let go of our past hurts and past mistakes, we have to forgive those people that have hurt us and forgive ourselves for the mistakes we have made.

 

Let’s take a look at what the bible says:

Proverbs 17:9 – He who covers and forgives an offense seeks love, but he who repeats or harps on a matter separates even close friends.

 

Mark6:14 – For if you forgive people their trespasses (their reckless and wilful sins, leaving them & letting them go, and giving up resentment), your Heavenly Father will also forgive you.

 

Forgiveness is VITAL, you must forgive and let go. As I sit here with tears in my eyes, remembering my past, I have decided to let go, because I cannot change it. I will probably never see most of those people, but I forgive them.

 

I want my life to change and in order for me to do that I need to start by changing my attitude towards the past and the people in it. It will not be easy but with God’s help I know I can do it.

Posted on December 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so proud of you! The freedom you will feel when you finally let go is amazing. The Holy Spirit will strengthen you and then lead you into a deeper walk with Christ. It’s as if you move past a huge barrier—-something that has been holding you back from receiving the blessings God has for you. So be excited! Good things are coming! 🙂

  2. Thank you, I had a dream last night and when I woke up this morning i could not stop thinking about it, and realised that everything that was in my dream are things I am still hanging on to.

Leave a Reply

